Skip to product information
1 of 1

Written by Si Clarke

Livid Skies (Devon Island Mars Colony series #2) ebook

Livid Skies (Devon Island Mars Colony series #2) ebook

Building the first permanent Mars colony

Regular price £4.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £4.99 GBP
Sale Sold out

A fresh start, a queer social liberal dream, and a planet that wants to kill you.

Noble aspirations are easier said than done, though – especially when the entire planet wants to kill you. Grappling with the realities of human nature and with their batteries slowly dying, the colony’s 150 women and 10 men must overcome their differences to create a lasting community.

But things aren’t always what they seem and maybe the colonists aren’t as alone as they thought…


Perfect for fans of Mary Robinette Kowal's Lady Astronaut series and the writing styles of Robert J. Sawyer and Becky Chambers. This thought-provoking sci-fi novel blends classic science fiction ideas with neurodiverse and LGBTQIA+ themes.

Scroll up and grab your copy today!

View full details

You've got questions; I've got answers

FAQ

Can I read a sample?

Read a sample on BookFunnel now:
read.bookfunnel.com/read/hwf86ewz7q

How will I get my book?

You will receive your choice of epub (suitable for most ereaders or devices), mobi (for Kindle), or PDF files (for reading in your browser). Files will be delivered by BookFunnel.

How long is this book?

Estimated reading time: 6–7 hours

82k words / 266 pages

Why should I buy direct from the author?

When I published my first book in January 2020, someone at work laughed and asked me when I was going to quit my job. 

There's this perception out there that authors are wealthy people. And I'm sure the big names (e.g. Richard Osman, Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, etc.) are doing just fine.

But it's not like that for indie authors. It's tough out there. There are great, amazing things about being an indie author. But most of us aren't making bank.

You know who is making money out of books? Jeff Bezos, CEO of Amazon.

You may have noticed a move in recent years of indie authors selling their books directly to you. There's a reason for that. 

If you buy a book for 0.99 from Amazon, the author gets to keep maybe 0.26 of that. Maybe. It depends on the file size. And they won't even get that for around 3 months. But if you buy a book from an author for 0.99, the author gets to keep around 0.83. And we get that money within days.

Because that first book I mentioned? Four years later, it hasn't come close to paying for itself. 

If you can't buy direct, libraries are a great way to get books for free while still helping authors get their fair share. 

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review
100%
(1)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
R
Robin Phillips
Excellent sequel

An excellent sequel, focused on life on Mars rather than planning the colony. I was particularly pleased to see that there was more about Devon.

I'm just hoping the author will write more in this series.