Skip to product information
1 of 1

Written by Si Clarke

Jurassic Dark (a Starship Teapot short) ebook

Jurassic Dark (a Starship Teapot short) ebook

A not-actually scary sci-fi horror story

Regular price £0.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £0.99 GBP
Sale Sold out

Find out why BookRiot included this series in their list of 10 Cozy Sci-Fi Books to Give You Hope for the Future.


There’s something in the dark … but is Lem’s imagination worse than reality?

Out in the vast emptiness of the galaxy, anything can happen. It’s a fact that Lem and her trusty companion Spock know all too well.

Sometimes, the things lurking in the darkness are all in your head. Then again, maybe there really is something out there.

With her talking dog and an infuriatingly literal AI by her side, Lem must rely on nothing but her strength and wits to help her.


Jurassic Dark is a short story in the Starship Teapot series and a humorous homage to Arthur C Clarke’s classic A Walk in the Dark. This short adventure is a not-actually-scary sci-fi horror story that’s perfect for fans of Martha Wells and John Scalzi.

Scroll up and grab your copy now!

View full details

You've got questions; I've got answers

FAQ

Can I read a sample?

Read a sample on BookFunnel now:
read.bookfunnel.com/read/vsdv4ul4zm

How will I get my book?

You will receive your choice of epub (suitable for most ereaders or devices), mobi (for Kindle), or PDF files (for reading in your browser). Files will be delivered by BookFunnel.

How long is this book?

Estimated reading time: 1 hour

7k words / 23 pages

Why should I buy direct from the author?

When I published my first book in January 2020, someone at work laughed and asked me when I was going to quit my job. 

There's this perception out there that authors are wealthy people. And I'm sure the big names (e.g. Richard Osman, Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, etc.) are doing just fine.

But it's not like that for indie authors. It's tough out there. There are great, amazing things about being an indie author. But most of us aren't making bank.

You know who is making money out of books? Jeff Bezos, CEO of Amazon.

You may have noticed a move in recent years of indie authors selling their books directly to you. There's a reason for that. 

If you buy a book for 0.99 from Amazon, the author gets to keep maybe 0.26 of that. Maybe. It depends on the file size. And they won't even get that for around 3 months. But if you buy a book from an author for 0.99, the author gets to keep around 0.83. And we get that money within days.

Because that first book I mentioned? Four years later, it hasn't come close to paying for itself. 

If you can't buy direct, libraries are a great way to get books for free while still helping authors get their fair share. 

Customer Reviews

Based on 10 reviews
20%
(2)
70%
(7)
10%
(1)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
R
Robert K.
An intriguing, rambling monolog with interjections.

This short story snippet of an ongoing series is intriguing, rambling, descriptive, and reminiscent of Old Time Radio "horror stories" that I used to listen to. The self-reflective buildup, the self-questioning, the self-induced terror, then the complete crumbling of the self-imposed premise and return to reality, all brings a tale to completion. Loved the anticipation and setting. Loved "Spock" and wish I had a "Spock" of my own! Makes me want to read the entire series.

M
Martin
book review

A good light read

M
Marion
Weird but entertaining

Story line was a bit strange, didn't know what was going on. But found it compulsive as well.

C
ChrisA
Interesting

I found this book well written and quite interesting.

&
'
Jurassic Dark (a Starship Teapot short)

/